FAQs, Tips, and More
Renewing Your Vehicle Registration
Marylanders register their cars and most other vehicles for 2 years at a time. Fees differ, so check the renewal form to see what your registration renewal costs. Please note: Those with insurance violations or other MVA problems will need to visit an MVA full-service location.
Registration surcharges increased from $13.50 to $17.00 as part of Transportation Infrastructure Investment Act of 2013. New dollars go directly to the Maryland Emergency Medical System Operations Fund to support Maryland’s world-renowned trauma and emergency management system, including the Maryland State Police Aviation Command, R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, the Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute and the Volunteer Company Assistance Fund.
When should I renew my tags?
Renew now. Stop in and renew on site. Leave same day with all your renewal stickers.
Tags for Trailers
Trailers not for rent or lease do not require insurance.To avoid a substantial uninsured motorist penalty fee, return your registration card and plates to the MVA on or before the day the required insurance is terminated.
MVA Administrative Fees
Administrative fees will be assessed by the MVA if your vehicle registration is being withheld as a result of failure to satisfy the requirements of a traffic control device violation, law enforcement agency referral, or failure to satisfy the requirements for a returned check. The Administrative fee by the MVA is assessed for each administrative action imposed. Any fee remaining unpaid may be referred to the Maryland Central Collection Unit for collection.
Can I use a PO Box to register my tags?
Post office boxes are accepted as long as the name of your street is provided and the zip code is the same for the post office box and street.
What if my license plates are lost or damaged?
If your license plates are lost or damaged, check the box above the tag number on your renewal notice and include applicable fees. Please remember that when you receive new plates, any old plates in your possession must be returned. We can process plate returns.
What are your hours?
We are open Monday- Saturday from 9am-7pm. Closed Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.